Twitterfied – Joining the Revolution

I joined the Twitter revolution in September 2012 for a social science class.  It was a requirement for the class, and I remember thinking I was making the ultimate sacrifice since I was all about Facebook and had no real use for Twitter.  I am not famous and I am not a business owner, so I did not see the need.  All I knew about Twitter is what I had heard about online – this celebrity “tweeted” this random tidbit – it seemed a little far removed for me.  But what is Twitter, really?

Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that has changed the way many people communicate. Twitter allows users to send “updates” (or “tweets”: text-based posts, up to 140 characters long) to Twitter website via short message service (e.g. on a cell phone), instant messaging, from their computer at home or work, or through a third-party application.

Some see this as a way to simply report their ’status’ to friends, some use it to post interesting links, some use it as a savvy marketing tool and still there are countless ways to utilize this real time quick messaging application.

It’s very easy to do. You just sign up (free registration), pick a user name (your site or profile web page will be ‘http://twitter.com/your name here’), and you can ‘design’ your Twitter home page by uploading an image or choosing web colors.”

I joined Twitter, but considered it a shortened status update version of Facebook.  In fact, my Facebook and Twitter are connected.  I am @Melwayne72.  I am an avid Tweeter, having only tweeted about 50 times.  I am following 190 persons/entities and have about 29 followers.  While this account is part of my way of keeping in touch with various professional entities and my page is for the most part benign, it has more of a personal feel to the page.  As part of an assignment for a class, we were asked to create a Twitter account and adhere to some guidelines – make it a professional twitter account and to use your name as your handle.  While my web design business is melwayne productions, I have not promoted on this Twitter handle, and I really did not want to start at this point since I am not actively seeking new work.

So I created another Twitter account – this one @MelanieJohnsonP because MelanieJohnson was already taken.  I just recently took on being a Pampered Chef consultant more due to my love of the product and desire to get free product, so I am going to promote that – with recipes and fabulous insights.  Twitter asked me to list my interests and I selected them all, and I chose 40 people/entities to follow, and 1 person followed me.  I have not had my first tweet on this account, but Twitter as suggestions in case I need one.

Obviously social media is about shameless self promotion, but what I didn’t see before was the purpose which is to maintain your brand, gather that following so that people see your product and want more of it.  This is great for business because each follower is a potential customer.  There are many how to manuals online that tell you the best way to self promote – down to what information you should have and where is the best placement.

How does Twitter work? “Basically, you can use the service to post and receive messages to a network of contacts. Instead of sending a dozen e-mails or text messages, you send one message to your Twitter account, and the service distributes it to all your followers. Members use Twitter to organize impromptu gatherings (or even political protests), carry on group conversations or just send quick updates to let people know what’s going on.”

For business, Twitter can help you get more followers if you can tweet a savvy message and get a good customer base that reacts to your tweets.

So I am updating this post to discuss who I have followed the handles that I have followed.  Since I was hoping to promote the Pampered Chef business, I did a search for busy mom and then another for cooking and just started following some that appeared interesting.  My hope is to get followed back and maybe followed by some followers so that I may get some connections that pan out to an actual sale.

I am following:

  •  @Food52   their blurb indicates it helps people become better cooks – and the product I sell does exactly that.  It helps people become better cooks.
  • @thekitchn  their blurb caught my eye – “inspiring cooks, nourishing homes”  the products I sell are meant to inspire cooks and obviously the food we serve should be nourishing.
  • @CHOW  Another perfect match to hopefully inspire cooks with the products and the potential.  Their motto, “place to discover new recipes and food hobbies and to pursue existing passions of cooking, eating, and enjoying food and beverages” is inspiring to me that those who follow are just as passionate about what they cook as they are what they cook with.
  • @Todaysparent  What better potential customer than a busy parent who could benefit from the easy to use cooking tools.  The recipes that promote the products use fresh ingredients and the products are free from chemicals.
  • @TheBabyGuyNYC A baby gear expert out of NYC, another potential avenue for a busy parent customer base. 
  • Supporting Moms in business, how could I not follow?
Leave a Reply

